Picking up where I left off…

After an absence of nearly nine months, I’m finally back at the farmlet. I struggle with a chronic illness that got pretty bad over the winter, leaving me stuck in the city and feeling guilty about abandoning the farmlet. While I’m still not in top form, it’s great to be back.

Back in September I had broken a hammer in an attempt to uncover what may be an old window opening in the living room. It seems kind of auspicious that one of the first things I found in the barn this week was not one, but two hammers to replace the broken one:

Given that there were many times over the winter that I though to myself that I needed to get a new hammer, but somehow still forgot to buy one, this felt doubly fortuitous.

I can’t promise a lot of renovation over the eight weeks that I’ll be here; I still have a lot of pain and mobility issues, but I’ll do my best. In the meantime, I’ll leave you with a shot of the gnarly old lilac bush, which produces the deepest purple blooms I’ve ever seen:

Leave a comment