Pushing Through

This summer has been incredibly frustrating. Just when I felt I was getting back on track and starting to get things done at the famlet, I came down with covid, and while it was a relatively mild case (I’m double vaccinated and boosted), it knocked me out, and then once it was over my chronic pain and fatigue (polymyalgia rheumatica) surged, which put me in bed for almost a week.

I couldn’t stand the thought of not finishing the painting in the upstairs hall, though, so in the past couple of days I decided to just push through and do the best I could. I put a third coat on last night and pulled off the painter’s tape this morning. It’s a pretty sloppy job, if I’m honest, but it was the best I could do with limited mobility, and actually not any sloppier than the original red paint. Here are some snaps, starting with the stairs:

It’s so much brighter and cleaner looking. Here’s a shot of the trim in the ridiculously low-ceilinged “hall”:

I kind of regret not painting the top of the banister white too. I may do that at some later point, but to be honest I’m completely reliant on the banister to get up and down the stairs because of the reduced mobility, and I couldn’t risk not being able to get to the bathroom while paint was drying.

Finally, here’s the functional part of the hall, with the doors to the bathroom (left) and north bedroom (right):

Next up is the two chimneys in the hall (the other one is just off camera to the left). As you can see, I have already spackled the one on the right. I’ll be painting them in a lower gloss version of the same paint, which is what I used on the walls in the south bedroom. Secretly I hope that I can paint the walls and floors of the north bedroom too, thought that may be too much. This is my last full week at the farmlet this summer, so it would be so great to have all the painting done.

Leave a comment