Leveling up

My son is really into World of Warcraft these days, so much so that video game vernacular is seeping into the way I think about things. I had thought I was more or less done with all the decisions that had to be made on this project, but I’m realizing that those were just the major decisions, level 1 in video game parlance. Now that I have completed that one, I have unlocked an entirely new level of decisions that have to be made.

The easiest one has to do with lighting. I have asked for LED downlights in all the rooms except the two bedrooms (I just couldn’t justify the extra expense there) so I’m going to have to locate two nice ceiling fixtures at some point.

A more complicated and expensive quest in the video game of my renovation is figuring out what will go inside the kitchen cabinets. It turns out there is a whole slew of options for what kind of drawer organizers one can have added on, and I have to make the decision by the end of this week.

Then, as if that weren’t enough, I have to make a really major decision about the state of my backsplashes, and this too has to be finalized by the end of this week. Originally I had planned on microcement for the kitchen walls, which would have given me a very clean, water resistant surface that would have been perfectly fine as a backsplash. But since I decided against microcement in the kitchen, I now have to figure something else out. My choices seem to be A) tiles, B) some kind of water resistant panels, or C) the same CaesarStone as the counters. A remotely possible D) might be to plaster just the backsplash areas. A really exciting E) that I love the idea of would be old timey tin tiles (the kind of tin ceiling tiles you find in nineteenth century buildings, at least out west in the US, not sure about other areas).

A) I’m not super excited about tiles, in part because I find all the options so overwhelming, and in part because they can be visually busy. It was almost miraculous that I worked out what to use for the bathroom floor tiles so painlessly. On the other hand, tiles can be beautiful and can also be changed relatively easily.

B) Laminate panels is what I had before. They were plain white and high gloss and easy to clean, but they buckled a bit (probably from steam) and the seams got a little scruffy. They’re definitely cheap and convenient, and might be a good short term solution while I save up for something I really love. IKEA has a bunch, although I am trying to boycott them.

C) I priced out the CaesarStone option yesterday, and the price is very high (though not beyond reason). Another problem is that it only comes in sheets that are 2cm thick, which would be total overkill. I think I would love the seamless and clean look, but I don’t think it’s a good option. Maybe? Still thinking.

D) I also don’t think plastering is a good idea. I would still have to go through all the trouble of choosing a color, and it would still entail a lot of work and coordination to make it work. I guess for me it was all or nothing for microcement in the kitchen.

E) This leaves me with tin tiles. As I was thinking about this post I started poking around on the internet and found this company that even delivers internationally. They have clear instructions for doing it yourself and a bunch of different options. I’m going to think seriously about this as an option!

Oh, and there’s actually an F too:

F) The kitchen company has plain white glass panels too. I actually already have one on order for behind the stove (I thought there might be too much staining on the microcement). Maybe I should just order a second one for behind the sink and call it a day?

What do you think?

One thought on “Leveling up

  1. If you’re doing white glass plates behind the sink and stove, why not do a backsplash on the counters of white glass tiles to match? I’m thinking of 3 x 6 tiles or something similar. Makes it easier to clean the counters.

    Like

Leave a Reply

